Dull clear coats?

Post, chat, or discuss topics related to Star Wars, modeling, 3D graphics, or something close to this.
Captain Riker
Padawan
Padawan

Dull clear coats?

Post by Captain Riker » July 31st, 2014, 4:23 am

What do you all use for dull clear coating over Acrylics? I've seen some people mention adding flat clear to future but I've not tried it.

Stefan Hacker
Imperator
Imperator

Re: Dull clear coats?

Post by Stefan Hacker » July 31st, 2014, 8:57 am

I always use Vallejo Acrylic Matte Varnish. Great stuff!

Captain Riker
Padawan
Padawan

Post by Captain Riker » August 1st, 2014, 4:51 am

Maybe I can find some at Jetseyfest this weekend. Any opinion on Liquitex matte varnish?

Slave1
Youngling
Youngling

Post by Slave1 » August 1st, 2014, 9:06 am

This will sound awfully amateurish, but I've been using Testors rattle cans over my acrylics for 10 years now and have never had any problems with it.

Del
Jedi Aspirant
Jedi Aspirant

Post by Del » August 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Slave1 wrote:This will sound awfully amateurish, but I've been using Testors rattle cans over my acrylics for 10 years now and have never had any problems with it.
That doesn't sound amateurish. I use Krylon UV-Resistant Clear acrylic coating. Since it's acrylic, non-yellowing, UV protected, and comes in a matte finish, I figured what the heck - it might be good for my models.
Multi-Verse Models - http://www.mvmodels.biz or find me on Facebook
Retail sales of kits from Design Anomaly, Kessel Run Kits, NorthTrek Creations, Alternate Paradigms, and more!

Captain Riker
Padawan
Padawan

Post by Captain Riker » August 1st, 2014, 5:47 pm

For some reason I recall someone saying that Laquer based clear coats were a problem and that Tayima discontinued their clear coats (or maybe they can't import them into the US?)

I'll see what I find this weekend but maybe I'm overcomplicating this and should just stick with the Testors or Krylon stuff?

Del
Jedi Aspirant
Jedi Aspirant