The Shrike - Slave 1 kitbash

for critique on all works in progress models
Unreality
Jedi Aspirant
Jedi Aspirant

The Shrike - Slave 1 kitbash

Post by Unreality » September 5th, 2015, 1:15 am

Well, this is my latest build that I've been working on for a few months now. I had the Fine Molds 1/72 Jango Slave I and decided to kit-bash it into a custom mercenary transport.

This is the concept art that inspired the build. Originally, I was going to have it fly like that (with the canopy vertical), but after playing around, I found that I preferred a different look.

Here's the cockpit. I used the base parts from the kit and just added a lot of detail. I've drilled several holes for fiber (some I installed), but I think I will add most of it after I paint it.

Assembled hull pieces (not yet glued). The white styrene piece on the nose is one solid piece that I had to cut out, scribe the panel lines, and then glue to the hull.

Hull parts and internal wiring. There are 3 thrusters. Each small one is made from the wing parts of the Slave I. The large thruster has 3 LEDs lighting it, while the smaller ones have 1 LED. Also, you can see a lot of the greeblies I've added to the rear. I originally cut out that chunk because I wanted another big thruster under the main one, but I couldn't make it look quite right. So in the end, I built up the area with more detail.

Here it is on the stand. You can also see the wings I made. These are pointing backward from the concept art, but I like the look.

Another shot. This gives you a good idea of the profile of the ship.

Enjoy. If you have any ideas, feel free to throw them my way.
Last edited by Unreality on November 7th, 2017, 5:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Rebel Scale: my modeling website

Stu Pidasso
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight

Re: The Shrike - Slave 1 kitbash

Post by Stu Pidasso » September 5th, 2015, 2:27 am

Oh that's sexy. Jimi is moist.
Rogueknight wrote:Figured I had to post to keep Stu moist....

dano985
Jedi Knight